tomburkhalter:

Matthew Wright has some good ideas here about the necessary knowledge base of a writer. Knowing a little bit about everything is an ideal we may aspire to, even if we never reach it. I never pass by a bit of trivia … you never know when it may prove not only useful but vital!

Originally posted on M J Wright:

It has always been a source of frustration to me, as a writer, that critics assume the only thing I know how to write about is whatever my last book was on. I’ve found, time and again, that if I write on something else, the first response by those who regard the new subject as their own personal possession is to deny my expertise in it.

It happened just a few weeks ago, in fact, though the critic should have known better as the topic was the very one I am formally trained in. I love irony. But the fact is that writers have to have a broad knowledge of a lot of subjects anyway.

That’s partly because one of the keys to longevity in this field is versatility.

But a broad knowledge is essential even when writing on a single subject. The world you’re building with your words – be it fiction, non-fiction or whatever –…

View original 465 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. Hi – I[‘m pleased to pass on the Reality Blog Award… realise I’m adding this comment to a re-post of one of mine, but hey… Thank you. And all the best for your aviation novel!

    http://mjwrightnz.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/passing-the-reality-blog-award-to-those-who-deserve-it/

  2. S. Thomas Summers

    I write about the Civil War; however, I am not a historian. I simply developed stories that fall into history’s cracks. After reading my book, many assume I am a master historian. I am not. Go figure.

    S. Thomas Summers
    Author of Private Hercules McGraw: Poems of the American Civil War

Leave a Reply

