Doldrums

A brief explanation of why I’ve been absent for three months…or is it four?  

Summer.  Yup, that’s it in a nutshell.  Having to deal with heat saps my creativity and my energy.  Something about the approach of winter for whatever reason peps me up.  Don’t ask me why.  My fingers and my toes get cold and my body is starting to display a progressively more interesting variety of aches and pains as the years progress.

But that doesn’t matter.  I can think in the cold; I don’t think nearly as well in the heat.

So that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

As I write this I ought to be working on A Snowball’s Chance, the second volume of my Southwest Pacific Air War trilogy.  The other two?  Oh, glad you asked: Volume 1, Everything We Had, begins just before the attack on Pearl Harbor and the subsequent attack on Clark Field in the Phillipines.  Volume 2, A Snowball’s Chance, takes place in Java and Australia early in 1942 as the Japanese continue their southward advance.  Volume 3, Boxcar Red Leader, takes place in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, as the tide of the Pacific war turns in May 1942.  I hope to publish all of these some time next year.

I’m pushing 17,000 words right now so it’s time to get back to work.  Why is 17,000 words significant?  Well, I’m writing this for my ninth consecutive year as a participant in National Novel Writers Month.  I need to write 50,000 words by November 30 to be a finalist.  It’s a great way to get a first draft done!

Maybe with the election over it’ll be easier to concentrate!  Good luck to all the WriMos out there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

